Tuesday, June 25, 2024
HomeAthleticsSSCB sprinter Manikanta H improves 100m file to ten.23 seconds « Athletics...

SSCB sprinter Manikanta H improves 100m file to ten.23 seconds « Athletics Federation of India

AFI Media


Promising sprinter from SSCB, Manikanta H, set the observe ablaze at the opening day of the 62nd Nationwide Open Athletics Championships by way of making improvements to the boys’s 100m nationwide file. Whilst Tejas Shirse of Railways stepped forward the meet file within the males’s 110m hurdles.

The 22 years outdated SSCB sprinter clocked 10.23 seconds within the 100m semis to support the nationwide file of 10.26 seconds clocked by way of Odisha’s world sprinter Amiya Kumar Mallick in 2016.

“I used to be ready to erase the 100m file,” elated ManiKanta mentioned. “I’ve plans to additional support my efficiency within the ultimate.”

Manikanta had posted a time of 10.50 seconds within the warmth.

After a no longer so encouraging efficiency on the Nationwide Inter State Athletics Championships held in June in Bhubaneswar, Manikanta used to be knocked out all the way through the semis, however he bounced again all the way through the Services and products athletics assembly held lately in Hyderabad.

His gold profitable time within the Services and products festival used to be 10.31 seconds. “I had skilled arduous for the departmental meet and gained gold” Manikanta, who hails from district Udupi in Karnataka mentioned.

Manikanta used to be an all rounder all the way through his college days, however began severe dash coaching in 2018. He joined the military in 2020, which additional stepped forward his sprinting abilities.

Within the ladies’s 100m semis, Kamaljeet Kaur of Punjab (11.47 seconds), Giridharani Ravi Kumar Tamil Nadu (11.46 seconds) and Sneha SS of Karnataka (11.47 seconds) emerged sturdy contenders for the gold medal.

Maharashtra’s Tejas Shirse representing Railways clocked 13.72 seconds within the 110m hurdles heats to support the meet file of 13.77 seconds set by way of Siddhanth Thingalaya in 2011.

Within the males’s discus throw, 28 athletes reported for the initial spherical, which used to be ruled by way of Gagandeep Singh of SSCB. His absolute best throw used to be 52.96m. Manipur’s Oinam Singh used to be shut 2d with 52.82m.



10000m: Seema (Himachal Pradesh) 33:26.90, Kavita Yadav (Railways) 33:35.57, Phoolan Good friend (UP) 34:55.13.

Hammer throw: Anmol Kaur (Police Sports activities Keep an eye on Board) 60.19m, Tanya Chaudhary (UP) 59.04m, Sarita B Singh 58.42m.


10,000m: Dinesh (Maharashtra) 29:10.11, Mohan Saini (SSCB) 29:10.82, Sandeep Singh (SSCB) 29:11.21.

Pole vault: Dev Meena (Madhya Pradesh) 5.05m, Shekhar Pandey (UP) 4.95m, Tanuj Kumar (Haryana) 4.85m





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments